top of page

Our Recent Posts

Tags

No tags yet.

Positivity in the Cosplay Community

Everyone knows what I'm talking about. Negative comments said online or in person. "You can't cosplay that character because _________ reason." "You're too fat/skinny. You're too tall/short." "You're not a boy/girl." "You're not white. You're not asian. The wrong race." Etc.

I get it. We've all been there in some form. As for me, I'm mostly told I'm fat. By people hiding behind a user name on a website. Using bad, google translated slurs against my body image. I'm here to say I understand.

I get one of these comments at least once a week. Some days I get several at once. And yeah, it hurts. But I have to keep pushing myself to keep going. Otherwise...those people have won. And I don't want that. I want to be an advocate for Positivity in the Cosplay Community specifically. We all cosplay for several reasons. For some its to escape the harsh reality of our lives. For some its an artistic outlet. For some its a way to make new friends with similar interests.

But I can't do it alone. I need everyone to help. Help be a positive force in your smaller communities. It doesn't take much to compliment a cosplayer. Whether it be in person or online. But keep it completely positive. Comments like, "You're better than so and so!" are actually backhanded and can hurt the cosplayer's feelings. I hate those kind of comments given to me. It's okay to tell a cosplayer that they are your favorite representation of a character though. You can do it! It may be a little daunting at first but it can be fun! Don't you like to see someone smile because of you? An honest compliment can do that. It can go a long way. Let's work hard together to make this community one that is positive and inclusive of all Cosplayers! Loves and Hugs~

Taeminnie

Photo taken and edited by Kallen Catalyst

Cosplay - Love Live Maki Arabian Dancer

Photo by Kallen Catalyst

bottom of page